top of page

Why a medical cannabis card in needed in 2018

The language and the rules of Prop 64 still make it beneficial to get your medical marijuana card in 2018.


Thanks to Prop 64, possessing 28 grams (an ounce) and growing six plants or less will be decriminalized for anyone 21 and over.  Medical Cannabis card holder patients, on the other hand, can possess and grow all the medical weed needed to alleviate their condition(s); they can even get a California grower's license (limits exemption license) if more plants are needed. This law applies to anyone 18 or older, giving a huge portion of California residents access to medical marijuana.  Anyone under the age of 18 years of age needs to be accompanied by a parent.


Recreational users–even those who only occasionally smoke, vape or use edibles–will benefit from getting a medical cannabis card in 2018 just as much as the regular user. Having a weed card will save you up to a whopping 20% to 40% in extra tax fees per purchase. This adds up to potentially save thousands every year.


Medicinal marijuana cards also give users access to much better cannabis than what'll be available in recreational shops. The vast selection sold in medical dispensaries is grown from several high-grade strains with various THC:CBD ratios to increase potency, target pain management, and create a better experience.


The new Prop 64 law will not have an adverse effect on medical cannabis pricing because it exempts California medical marijuana card patients from paying sales taxes, which will keep consumer costs down. It also caps the cost of getting an optional CA state ID card confirming a person’s status as an MMJ patient (Prop 215 medical cannabis patient).  The cost for this card is caped at $100 or $50 if you are receiving Medi-cal benefits, and with many counties now charging up to $175, that could also lead to savings.


Indeed, experts have stated that the passing of Proposition 64 does not negatively affect the rights of medical marijuana patients established in the Compassionate Use Act of 1996, and will in fact improve them, so even though Proposition 64 is fully in effect, there will still be advantages to being a certified medical marijuana patient.


While recreational use will not be allowed in public, card-carrying medical patients will still be permitted to smoke medical cannabis in most areas in which tobacco smoking is allowed.  While recreational consumers will be limited to growing six plants at a time with some counties making it mandatory for them to pay an additional $150 for a recreational growers permit.   Medical marijuana patients will continue to be able to grow up to 100 square feet of plants or more with a growers letter.

bottom of page